Music I’ve Been Listening to: Tori Kelly

Una foto pubblicata da Tori Kelly (@torikelly) in data: 4 Mar 2015 alle ore 09:03 PST

Once upon a time (around a month ago) there was a messy hair princess (me) surfing in the infinite ocean that is Internet. On a big island called Youtube, she met two young men, who recommended her a song, and she fell so in love with the lyrics and the music that she navigated and navigated the vast ocean searching for more songs by this unknown (for her) singer. This is how the story starts.

The song that originated everything is called Unbreakable Smile, and the singer is the messy (but freaking beautiful) hair queen Tori Kelly.

Somebody told me fame is a disease
You start singing the blues when you start seeing the green
But I think it’s all about what you choose
The way you live your life depends on you
That’s when I realized I wanna make a difference
Change other people’s lives
Give hope even for a moment
Use my name for good
And change the game, I could

Because to make it
You think I gotta act a certain way
Be a little bit insane
Live a little, it’s okay
I guess we have different definitions of living
But you’ll twist my words anyway
You’ll say that I’m naive like I don’t have a past
You’re the one being deceived
I see right behind the mask
Trying to stir me up and get me mad
I smile because happiness is all I have, so

La da da da dee
You’re not breaking me
La dee da da da
Ain’t got time for ya
La da da da dee
You won’t shatter me
La dee da da da
Got an unbreakable smile

You’ll see me hanging with my fam
But that don’t mean I’m living in a bubble
You’ll find me at church
But that don’t mean I can’t cause trouble
Stir up a little scene
Cause isn’t that what you want?
For me to mess up
So you could dress up some story
Saying “Tori, this’ll sell more records”
But I’d rather make ’em yawn
Than be a pawn on your chess board

So call me boring, call me cookie cutter
Call me what you want and matter fact
Just say it loud and don’t st-stutter
Cause I know who I am
Yeah, I’m still the same
Just a California girl with big dreams
Thinking, maybe they’ll let me sing songs about real things
And maybe, who knows
Maybe I could sell out shows without taking off my clothes
God made me sexy
I don’t care if only I know
[…]
I might be smiling, yes
But don’t mistake kindness for weakness

And so the adventure began, discovering little by little every single song by her.

Hold on to anything just so you don’t crash
Fought off the empty lies that once ruled your past
Right when you think you’ve won, jump three steps back
So now you find yourself stuck in your own tracks

They tried to dirty up your name
But it’s all a game

Baby, don’t have to know exactly who you are
Because figuring it all out could be the best part

Don’t quit your daydream
Don’t forget to breathe
Who you wanna be is only up to you
Sometimes, you may fall
Let them think that you’re small
Cause it’s so worth the fall when you land where you want to

Tried almost everything, still spinning around
But one thing you haven’t tried is “erase every doubt”
Keep both feet on the ground while your head’s in the clouds
And when you feel like giving up, listen to these sounds
And make sure you…
[…]
You don’t have to know exactly who you are
Just let your heart lead
It’s so worth the trials that you’re going through
So just enjoy the fall and you’ll land right where you want to

I like being independent, not so much of an investment
No one to tell me what to do
I like being by myself, don’t gotta entertain anybody else
No one to answer to

But sometimes, I just want somebody to hold
Someone to give me their jacket when it’s cold
Got that young love even when we’re old
Yeah sometimes, I want someone to grab my hand
Pick me up, pull me close, be my man
I will love you till the end

So if you’re out there I swear to be good to you
But I’m done lookin’, for my future someone
Cause when the time is right
You’ll be here, but for now
Dear no one, this is your love song

I don’t really like big crowds
I tend to shut people out
I like my space, yeah
But I’d love to have a soul mate
God will give him to me someday
And I know it’ll be worth the wait

Cause everyone’s out doing things and I’m stuck in my room
But if this bed grew some wings, then what could I not do?
Just me and my fickle heart
Lonely never felt so right
I would go anywhere tonight

If there was a rope stretching up to the sky
With all of my dreams at the very top, so high
I get so caught up in everything around me, moving quickly
I forget to cherish every single moment I receive ohh
I forget about the climb, I just wanna get there
Don’t wanna wait in line, even though it’s so clear
That I’m called to use patience on this journey that I’m on
I know that I’ll come out alive and it’ll only make me strong
While everybody’s focused on the hype
I’ll be wondering why we seem to think
You’ll be happier, once you reach the top
You’ll have it all
I’m living for right now
Cause what if tomorrow never comes
I’m not waiting, I’m not waiting, no

Feel like everybody’s watching to see what my next move is
Do I proceed with caution or do I just dive in
I’m fine with taking it slow, enjoy life on own
But I could be confusing sometimes I know

HER CHANNEL (her covers are sdjfhkghghkld): Tori Kelly

OTHER SONGS:


One thought on “Music I’ve Been Listening to: Tori Kelly

Leave a Reply

