Book Review: Off Magazine Street – Ronald Everett Capps


I was lucky enough to have watched the movie but not remember absolutely anything.
“Off Magazine Street” was a gift by my friend Martina, who participated to the #ioleggoperché (= #Ireadbecause) initiative organised by many Italian publishers for World Book Day (signing up to their website months before, you could have 10 free books, bookmarks and even a t-shirt, and you had to give them away to friends and relatives…I found out about it too late).

After some time laying on my bedside table, I started it around one/two weeks ago, and I slowly but constantly carried on reading it. There was nothing shocking to find out on the next chapter, no suspense, however I found myself taking it night after night. A weird kind of magic.

Off Magazine Street ronald everett capps love song of bobby long link

I think the best description I could give to you without making a summary of the story is: like Bukowski adopting an orphan teenage girl with his also alcoholic and women-obsessed but super cultured best friend, leaving in New Orleans, drinking, reading, singing and hanging with terrible-looking but good-hearted outcasts, and educating this girl one day they don’t even know why decided to help. They are totally wrong father figures in the conventional way of thinking, but they manage to do so much for their “child”. I put away my concept of “good” and “bad” in this book, and I adopted a “everything is gray” philosophy.

There is a lot of singing, music and book quotes involved, and I even made a list of stuff I want so search.

As I said, there’s a movie adaptation“A Love Song for Bobby Long”, with John Travolta and Scarlett Johansson, but I’ve read it’s completely different. I recommend to first read the book and then watch the movie, but you can do as you desire of course ^^. If you remember the film, or have read the book, please let me know in the comments what you think about it!

My rating: between 3 and 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

