I Made It to the City Lights Before They Took Over My Life

I was browsing The Daily Post’s writing prompts’ page because I wanted to post something, and I stumbled upon the prompt “Opening Lines”What’s the first line of the last song you listened to (on the radio, on your music player, or anywhere else)? Use it as the first sentence of your post.

The last song I listened to is ‘When You Know’ by Puggy and I listened to it for a very specific reason:

Something tells me everybody hates me
But what you’ve go to do it right
When you know
When you know
When you know

I had a very good time this weekend at a close friend of mine’s (free from other roommates) flat. We went out Friday night and then stayed awake until 5 am just talking, unable to fall sleep, and on Saturday we went for a walk, watched a movie and then suddenly at almost midnight decided to go buy some nutella crepes. It was simple and fun and I’m really trying to enjoy my last months at uni with my friends.

What made me listen to this song was that today a friend of us organised (days before) a picnic with all our friends from university but didn’t invite me. Yesterday we met another girl from uni and she began to talk to my friend about what to bring to the picnic but didn’t say/ask anything to me, knowing exactly that I wasn’t going to be there.
And that made me sad/angry – is there a word for both sad and angry? like ‘sandry’ or ‘sangry’? No, not ‘sangry’, it sounds like ‘sangria’
Not because I wasn’t invited, or because this girl decided not to invite me, but because I was explicitly being excluded. Without excuse or action that could generate the exclusion. All my friends were going to be there, and I wouldn’t. My friend suggested that it would be totally okay to join her, but I (proudly?) said no, and after a while went home.

In a situation like this, how would you act? Or better: how did you act if something like this happened to you?
Would you say ‘this bitch is going down‘, or just ‘let it go‘?

4 thoughts on “I Made It to the City Lights Before They Took Over My Life

  1. I’ve been in a few situations like this and it really hurts. I’m a bit passive so I’d do that same as you – just not say anything. But I doubt that’s the best way to deal with it. It’s good that you’ve got one good friend so just make the most of her!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

