Putting My Music Player on Shuffle a.k.a. “I Listen to Everything”

christina aguilera record music

I have been neglecting the 30 Days Writing Challenge (and I’m sorry) but today I’m back with another post: Put your music player on shuffle and write the first ten songs that play.
I did it with my personal Spotify account, with the “Starred” playlist (the songs I’ve liked with the “+” button during these years). Here is what came out:

1. Lose It – Oh Wonder

Downtown we let it go
Sunset high and our bodies low
Blood rush in the hazy glow
My hands, your bones
Loose up we break the scene
One step deep as you fall to me
Heart clap, we skip a beat
Count one two three
And don’t you stop the music
Get into it
Won’t you dance with me?
Find a space and lose it
You can do it
Won’t you dance with me?

2. Settle Down – The 1975

A small town dictating all the people we get around
What a familiar face
Do you get what I mean now?
I’m so fixated on the girl with the soft sound
And hair all over the place

3. Ultraviolence – Lana Del Rey

Jim raised me up
He hurt me but it felt like true love
Jim taught me that
Loving him was never enough

4. Infatuation – Christina Aguilera

Mama used to warn me
To beware of those Latin lovers
She said I gave my heart too soon
And that’s how I became your mother
I said ay mama, you seem to forget
I’m not in love yet
Sweet talk don’t win me over
But I realized
Big brown eyes can hypnotize
When he says…

5. Glory (From “Selma”) – Common Ft. John Legend

Resistance is us
That’s why Rosa sat on the bus
That’s why we walk through Ferguson with our hands up
When it go down we woman and man up
They say, “Stay down”, and we stand up
Shots, we on the ground, the camera panned up
King pointed to the mountain top and we ran up

6. Buttons – The Pussycat Dolls Ft. Snoop Dogg

7. 19 Días y 500 Noches – Joaquín Sabina

Tanto la quería,
Que, tardé, en aprender
A olvidarla, diecinueve días
Y quinientas noches.

8. Forever – Drake Ft. Eminem, Kanye West & Lil Wayne

You would think I ran the world like Michelle’s husband
You would think these niggas know me when they really doesn’t
Like they was down with the old me
No you fucking wasn’t
Um, you’re such a fucking loser
He ain’t even go to class, Bueller
Trade the Grammy plaques just to have my Granny back
Remember she had that bad hip like a fanny pack?
Chasing the stardom will turn you to a maniac
All the way in Hollywood and I can’t even act
They pull the cameras out and goddamn, he snap
I used to want this thing forever, y’all can have it back

9. La La La – Naughty Boy Ft. Sam Smith

Hush, don’t speak
When you spit your venom, keep it shut I hate it
When you hiss and preach
About your new messiah cause your theories catch fire
I can’t find your silver lining
I don’t mean to judge
But when you read your speech, it’s tiring
Enough is enough
I’m covering my ears like a kid
When your words mean nothing, I go la la la
I’m turning up the volume when you speak
Cause if my heart can’t stop it, I find a way to block it

10. Hero (From “500 Days of Summer”) – Regina Spektor 

I’m the hero of the story, don’t need to be saved
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
No one’s got it all

I created a playlist with the Spotify account I created for this blog. You can find it here:

6 thoughts on “Putting My Music Player on Shuffle a.k.a. “I Listen to Everything”

    1. When I listened it at the end of the movie, with the real videos of the march going, I nearly cried. Also when they performed it at the Oscars… thrills!

      If you do it with your music player let me know! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

