My Views on Mainstream Music

uptown funk bruno mars

“I’m too hot! Hot damn! Make a dragon wanna retire, man!”

How can you escape from such awesome lyrics? :D

I’ve been listening to this song everywhere, from the bus to the bar close to my university. I like it, it gives me energy. A friend of mine and I were walking around the city centre yesterday and we started dancing on the street when we heard it.
It’s catchy, fun and it doesn’t have stupid or offensive lyrics.
It is mainstream, of course, but who cares if you like it?
Taylor Swift, Macklemore, Sia, Beyoncรฉ, Bruno Mars are some of the artists I follow and listen on Spotify.
Do I have been criticized or does more than one has really bad looked askance at me for my taste in music? Yes.
Do I care? No.
I don’t think I have to mention all the alternative or indie bands I listen to just to gain someone’s attention, exactly like I don’t think I have to hide what I enjoy just to like somebody.ย This applies to acquaintances, friends, family, romantic interests.
I can start singing “My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard” and immediately after my favourite song by, for example, The Black Keys.
I don’t like to be fixed in one description, one genre, one box. I listen to everything – well, everything except metal – and I continue every day to try to discover new songs to add to my playlists. By the way, recommend me 5 songs you love in the comments!
To conclude, I really like mainstream music if it isย intelligent. Not offensive, misogynistic, songs like –> these.

I listened to Uptown Funk covered by Fall Out Boy, but I think the Glee cover is better.


Prompt: Day 6 of the 30 Days Writing Challenge

8 thoughts on “My Views on Mainstream Music

  1. I love this song! I don’t often pay attention to mainstream music but I like some of them haha – I also love Bang bang by Jessie J and Problem by Ariana – they’re just such fun and upbeat songs to dance to. I listen to a whole load of different genres too and I also feel like people judge you harshly on what you listen to but I love how you say you don’t care hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I must admit I don’t know this song, but I’ll give you five of my own:
    1. What’s Left of the Flag (Flogging Molly)
    2. You’re Gonna Go Far Kid (The Offspring)
    3. Homecoming (Green Day)
    4. Hallelujah (Paramore)
    5. Cell Block Tango (from Chicago)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

