Book Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell



Everybody has comfort food. I also have comfort books.
A comfort book, for me, is a book that makes you feel better. It’s a warm blanket made of paper (metaphorically, of course, I hope you don’t destroy books). It makes you laugh, it warms your heart, you feel like you know the characters, they’re like friends to you.
Do you have a book in mind?
For me this book is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Today I finished reading it for the second time. The sensation has not changed: I love the dialogues, I love how deep the story can go, still in a way staying light, I love the characters (Levi and Reagan are my favourites, but of course I love Cath too).
This young-adult is a coming-of-age story about the life of a girl since her first day of college, covering the span of one year. She has a twin, Wren, but she has decided to experience college alone, not sleeping in the same room, going to parties and making other friends. Cath, the protagonist, that has lived all her life with her sister, remains shocked, and doesn’t really know at the beginning how to move in the world without her twin. She is totally the opposite of Wren: she is shy, doesn’t like people and socializing, and stays all the time in her room writing Simon & Snow (very similar to Harry Potter) fanfiction. She immerses in this magical world where she can write about her favourite characters and feel finally at ease, away from college, his manic dad and his life.
Of course life comes to knock at her door, and she is forced, in a way or another, to talk to people and little by little she starts bonding with students around her.
By Rainbow Rowell I have read also “Eleanor & Park”, another book that will stay forever in my heart. She has this amazing way of writing, of describing so relatable characters, fun and true. But about “Eleanor & Park” I will talk another time.

Like I always do, I let my favourite quotes talk:

“We’re supposed to meet new people”, Wren repeated.
“I don’t need new people.”
“That just shows how much you need new people…”

“I still wish you’d get a dog,” she said.
“I’d never remember to feed it.”
“Maybe we could train it to feed you.”

Cath couldn’t imagine having any sort of job or career. She’d majored in English, hoping that meant she could spend the next four years reading and writing. And maybe the next four years after that.

Cath imagined herself at her laptop. She tried to put into words how it felt, what happened when it was good, when it was working, when the words were coming out of her before she knew that they were, bubbling up from her chest, like rhyming, like rapping, like jump-roping, she thought, jumping just before the rope hits your ankles.

“Why do we write fiction?” Professor Piper asked.
Cath looked down at her notebook.
To disappear.

Levi always said that. I’m not a book person. Like books were rich desserts or scary movies.

“No,” Cath said, “seriously. Look at you. You’ve got your shit together, you’re not scared of anything. I’m scared of everything. And I’m crazy. Like maybe you think I’m a little crazy, but I only ever let people see the tip of my crazy iceberg. Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and socially inept, I’m a complete disaster.”

“Your working on your final project?”
“Indirectly,” Cath said.
“What does that mean?”
“Have you ever heard sculptors say that they don’t actually sculpt an object; they sculpt away everything that isn’t the object?”
“No.” He sat down.
“Well, I’m writing everything that isn’t my final project, so that when I actually sit down to write it, that’s all that will be left in my mind.”

“-but I’m a writer, too,” the professor said. “I know what it’s like to be distracted. To seek out distractions. To exhaust yourself doing every other thing rather than face a blank page.” Shw smiled at one of the boys. “A blank screen…”
“So if you haven’t finished – or if you haven’t started – I understand, I do. But I implore you… start now. Lock yourself away from the world. Turn off the Internet, barricade the door. Write as if your life depended on it.”
“Write as your future depended on it.”

And more and more quotes. I can make another post just with quotes if you want.
Have you read it? Do you want to read it?
Let me know in the comments :)


I’ve got a Spotify profile for the blog, and I’m adding playlists with my music. If you want to follow me clic here: Jumbleskine’s Spotify.

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

  1. I actually do want to read this book! I briefly picked it up in Barnes and Noble 2 days ago! I also love this quote because I TOO have to start doing so for my novels in progess: “Lock yourself away from the world. Turn off the Internet, barricade the door. Write as if your life depended on it.”
    “Write as your future depended on it.”

    I also thought I was the only maniac in the world with a “TBR” list but yay I’m not! lol :) Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book is in my TBR, but still havent’ had the time to put my hands on it. Can’t wait, though, because everyone seems to like it and I’ve really loved Rowell’s writing style in Eleanor&Park. I think she is very human in the way she describes feelings and emotions.
    Time to put this book in the priority list [like one TBR is not enough xD]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

