The Bookworm Club #3

telling lies paul ekman nonverbal communication coffee book

Hello, my readers! Welcome to another week of The Bookworm Club.

Last week just one person participated, Fimnora from Quantum Hermit with

gone to green judy christie

the “Gone to Green” series by Judy Christie.

You know I usually create a separate post, but since it was only one I put it here with this week’ edition. Don’t forget to read her review! :)

This week we have the lovely Annie from Anniewhere She Goes with

Angelfall by Susan Ee.

I think, since so few people are participating, to modify this event and make it monthly. What do you think?


Now it’s the time of my work in progress (since I haven’t finished to read it yet) review of “Telling Lies” by Paul Ekman.

I’m reading this book for university (I’m attending a super interesting class about non verbal communication), but I would recommend it to anyone. The language is very easy and there are a lot of examples from his experiments and even from narrative books. Everybody is able to understand because everybody has lived at least a group of these situations, and that’s because we’re humans, and non verbal communication is everywhere and in every day of our lives.
Paul Ekman’s research, including this book, inspired the tv series “Lie to Me”.
Of course, some quotes!

In my definition of a lie or deceit, then, one person intends to mislead another, doing so deliberately, without prior notification of this purpose, and without having been explicitly asked to do so by the target.

It (the smile) is selected often because some variation on happiness is the message required to pull off many deceits. The disappointed employee must smile if the boss is to think he isn’t hurt or angry about being passed over for promotion. The cruel friend should pose as well-meaning as she delivers her cutting criticism with a concerned smile. Another reason why the smile is used so often to mask is because smiling is part of the standard greeting and is required frequently throughout most polite exchanges. If a person feels terrible, it usually should not be shown or acknowledged during a greeting exchange. Instead, the unhappy person is expected to conceal negative feelings, putting on a polite smile to accompany the “Just fine, thank you, and how are you?” reply to the “How are you today?”. The true feelings will probably go undetected, not because the smile is such a good mask but because in polite exchanges people rarely care how the other person actually feels. All that is expected is a pretense of amiability and pleasantness. Others rarely scrutinize such smiles carefully.

6 thoughts on “The Bookworm Club #3

  1. Oooh it sound like a good read. Part of my think I’m pretty skilled when it comes to spotting a liar. The other part want me to read it, so that I can sharpen my skills. The last part of me say, don’t read it, you don’t want to become overly paranoid that everyone is lieing to you! lol

    P.S. Monthly book club sounds better. I haven’t started of my new book yet! That’s maybe a Sunday job :)

    Like

      1. Yup! Sounds like a good idea .
        When you decide, do tell me what the date/ day for submission is. I want to participate :D

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

